Florida’s minimum-wage workers will receive a small pay increase with the start of the new year. The state’s minimum wage will increase from $8.46 to $8.56 an hour on Jan. 1, according to the state Department of Economic Opportunity.
Voters recently approved a constitutional amendment, known as Amendment 2, that proposed an increase to Florida’s minimum wage each year based on inflation. However, Amendment 2’s gradual increase to $15 per hour does not take effect immediately. The next increase will be September 30, 2021, where the minimum wage will rise from $8.65 per hour to $10.00 per hour (a $1.35 per hour increase). After that, the minimum wage will increase $1.00 per year through 2026.
Historically, increases to the Florida minimum wage have occurred on January 1 of each year, but now, with this new wage law taking effect on September 30, 2021, Florida’s minimum wage rates are set to change every year on September 30. This will continue through September 30, 2026.
- $11.00 on September 30, 2022
- $12.00 on September 30, 2023
- $13.00 on September 30, 2024
- $14.00 on September 30, 2025
- $15.00 on September 30, 2026
For more information, you can read the articles listed below : https://www.jacksonlewis.com/publication/florida-voters-approve-15-minimum-wage